Wannabe Buellers at the Art Institute of Chicago

Here I go again, making another excuse for not writing in over a month. I have been so busy since Senior year started that I have not once gone on Kayak to search for flights to some faraway place. Not once, I tell you. I know, the horror! But I need to write something soothing or else I’ll explode from stress.

And what better way to get school off my mind than talking about the greatest story of hooky to ever hit the big screen: “Ferris Bueller’s Day Off”?

tumblr_mq44azFDAe1szartzo1_500
From Tumblr.

Let’s rewind almost two months to my time at Cherubs. For our last field trip, I signed up to venture into the Windy City to visit one of the greatest and most extensive art museums in the world: The Art Institute of Chicago. Of course, the thousands of square feet of priceless works by some of the most notable artists of all time were tough to beat. But the real reason I was there was to reenact Ferris, Cameron, and Sloan’s trip to the Art Institute. Some of the most iconic scenes of the movie were filmed there, and I figured, “I’m here, so I’m gonna do it.”

It turned out that several of my fellow cherubs were also keen on recreating the famous Ferris Bueller poses. A small group of us wandered around the wings of the museum, searching for the works we would instantly recognize from the movie. The first was the famous Seurat, at which which Cameron stared and realized it was made simply of insignificant dots.

IMG_0835

Next were several rooms full of Van Goghs, Picassos, and Monets, many of them totally recognizable as distinctive paintings. After a detour through an antique furniture exhibit, we emerged in the American exhibit. Here was Hopper’s Nighthawks, another painting shot in the museum scenes.

SCHWARTZ_065

Also in the American exhibit was the incredibly famous American Gothic.

SCHWARTZ_070

Tracking back to the area of the 19th Century Europeans, we came across the same wall that the famous three-person pose was done in front of (though the actual paintings from the movie have since been moved elsewhere). Reenacting this pose proved to be most difficult due to unknowing tourists blocking the shot and our unfortunate inability to evenly space ourselves out. But we did the best we could (hey Meg and Julia!).

SCHWARTZ_086

Some of the final pieces we were able to find from the Bueller scenes were the famous Chagall windows, in front of which the silhouettes of Sloan and Ferris were so wonderfully displayed. The deep, swirling blue of the stained glass was accented with hundreds of colors and designs. I could’ve sat all day staring at it.

SCHWARTZ_093

And lastly, in the museum’s stark and vast modern wing, we discovered Picasso’s The Old Guitarist, another work in blue.

IMG_0808

With no more Bueller scenes to be successfully tracked down, we headed down into the miniatures collection, a room full of incredibly realistic miniature living areas from throughout history. There were French living rooms from the 1920s, Edwardian drawing rooms from England, New Mexican kitchens, etc. For the few decent photos I was able to get with my bulky camera, the miniature setup looks quite convincing, yet artistic. I felt like I was looking into a very technically shot full-size room.

Soon enough, it was time to depart downtown Chicago for the last time. The city had played host to several of our most memorable experiences as cherubs, and getting to ‘live’ Ferris Bueller for a few hours with some friends was definitely a highlight for me.

ferris_bueller_quote
From AltDaily.
Leave a Reply

